Friday, December 7, 2012

[Book Review] Thee Stages of Love: Lust

Title: Three Stages of Love: Lust
Author: T.C. Anthony
Date of Publication: November 28, 2012
Genre: Erotica, Romance, Adult Fiction
Source: ARC from Publisher
Rating: 3/5

Barnes & Noble

Evangeline Chase is standing at the edge of a crossroad. After choosing to be blissfully ignorant for far too long and willfully ignoring what her life has been lacking, fate is about to intervene. When Alexander Mason, a striking and powerful venture capitalist, is introduced as her new boss, Eva is overwhelmed by an intoxicating cocktail of hormones and lust that leaves her struggling to maintain her composure and more importantly, control of her life. 
With an undeniable urge to dominate her new boss, her own lust-filled fantasies lead to a transformation that shakes her to her core. But when Alexander challenges Eva to satisfy her carnal urges, she is forced to choose between her career, her desires, and an unconventional and lustful relationship. Consumed by fear and forced to maintain control at all costs, Eva must decide if having it all is worth risking her career, her world, and possibly, love. 
Three Stages of Love: Lust is the first book in a suspenseful new erotic romance series that explores the questions that young women have while embarking on their journey through life and love. Eva’s transformation from prim and proper to fun and dominating proves to be one of the most erotically intriguing personal makeovers around. Her passion for her career and life goals ultimately gives way to uninhibited encounters that leave her intoxicated and yearning for more. Eva’s emotional battle between her heart and mind leave her juggling with a desire to have it all and a profound fear of losing everything. 
Written to illustrate the average, driven woman’s point of view, Three Stages of Love: Lust tackles the everyday fears and desires that young women have in an intoxicatingly erotic way. A gripping, palpitation-inducing romance full of underlying themes that are extraordinarily relevant to modern women, this enthralling erotic novel by T. C. Anthony is a must-read for women of all backgrounds.

A sinfully scorching erotica with a spunky heroine. And that’s about it.

The flow of the story screamed a typical erotic romance novel, and that’s just about what this novel is.

The only thing that I really found good about it is that it is very well-written. The words used were very vivid and detailed that it was easy to imagine what was happening to the characters.

I really did not understand where this story was going. Sure, there’s this liberated, alpha female heroine who has serious commitment issues, and she finally meets her own version of Christian Grey in the person of Alexander Mason, her new boss.

Then, I read the title. It says, ‘Three Stages of Love: Lust.’ That’s when I understood where this story was coming from. Eva – the heroine is a sensual woman who is not afraid or ashamed of her sexuality. In fact, she even embraces it. What this story would like to depict is that even something as fleeting as Lust could eventually turn into love. It’s not exactly something new but that’s the whole point of the story.

Sexual tension literally filled the air between the two protagonists when they were in the same room. They seem to always engage in a battle of wits and sarcasm whenever they meet. Well, either that or they end up playing a cat and mouse game of seduction.

Then they finally have mind-blowing sex. And of course, as in every erotica novel, there is a crash course on BDSM. Oh, and did I mention that all these happen in the span of a few days? Yep, just a few days. And in my personal opinion, that translates to Insta-Love, which is every bit as unrealistic.

It’s an erotic novel, that’s it. It’s the perfect reading material if you’re into erotica. Just don’t expect too much on the plot because a love story between a commitment-phobe and a dashing millionaire businessman is already very overrated.

However, since this is only book one of a series, I think that the succeeding books will dwell on how the two main characters grow. Would I give this series of book a second chance? Yes, I will, definitely. This book is only the tip of the iceberg. Digging deeper is naturally the next step. So then, I shall await for book two.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...